Freddie Hughes
Freddie was born on August 20, 1943 in Berkeley, California. His parents came to the Bay Area from Dallas/Fort Worth Texas. His father Fred W Hughes Senior worked as a longshoreman and his mother Lola Mae Anderson was a singer and missionary at the Church of God In Christ in Oakland. It was in this church where Freddie’s qualities as a singer were noticed for the first time when he was only five years old. It took him a few more years, though, to have his first hit single.

In his early years Freddie played in quite a few outfits including the Holidays, Five Disciples, The Markeets, Casanova Two, Music City Soul Brothers and The Four Rivers.


I Know It’s Hard But It’s Fair … $12.99
release date: 06/17/2008 / catalog# BEI 0007

  • I Know It's Hard But It's Fair (4:21)
  • I Know I Need Someone (4:16)
  • What About My Love? (5:18)
  • Gypsy Woman (5:17)
  • Frankie And Johnny (2:59)
  • Suffering With The Blues (3:19)
  • Think (3:05)
  • Ain't That Lovin' You (For More Reason Than One) (4:35)
  • Broke & Hungry (3:00)
  • Little Blue Bird (7:16)
  • Heartbreak It's Hurting Me (3:35)