Bettye Lavette
Bettye’s vocal strengths are amply evident on A Woman Like Me, perhaps her finest artistic statement to date. On the heels of her acclaimed European releases she was approached by producer Dennis Walker, a three-time Grammy winner known for his work with Robert Cray and B.B. King.

Walker immediately set to writing a sterling batch of songs for her, and with Bettye’s creative input, the two soon developed a fruitful artistic partnership. Bettye LaVette is sounding better than ever, and, as this excellent CD proves, will be giving us lots of soul for many years to come.


A Woman Like Me … $12.99
release date: 01/21/2003 / catalog# BEI 0004

  • Serves Him Right (4:20)
  • The Forecast (5:02)
  • Thru The Winter (5:49)
  • Right Next Door (4:30)
  • When The Blues Catch Up To You (4:44)
  • Thinkin' Bout You (4:58)
  • A Woman Like Me (5:54)
  • It Ain't Worth It After A While (5:21)
  • When A Woman's Had Enough (4:17)
  • Salt On My Wounds (4:40)
  • Close As I'll Get To Heaven (4:55)
  • Hey, Hey Baby (Bettye's Blues) (4:18)